Movable Type, Perl, Apache, CGI, PostgreSQL/SQLite/MySQL… Oh, My!

6 05 2009

Bah. Humbug!

I wasted hours on this one as I was trying to install MovableType on my Mac. I had long ago installed PostgreSQL using MacPorts, and that’s where everything started to break. See, MT scripts all begin with #!/usr/bin/perl Don’t get me wrong; I have a perl interpreter there. The problem turns out to be that it’s a 32-bit executable and MacPorts builds 64-bit binaries. So in the end, if you want to use a MacPorts database installation with Movable Type, you end up having to hack all its files to begin with #!/opt/local/bin/perl

This command worked for me:

find . -type f -exec sed -i -e 's|#!/usr/bin/perl|#!/opt/local/bin/perl|g' {} \;

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

